4. Buffer contents
The display contains six columns, some of which are optional. They
contain, from left to right:
Optionally, the head revision of the file. This is the latest version
found in the repository. It might also contain (instead of the head
revision) a sub status.
An asterisk when the file is marked (see section 4.2 Selected files).
The status of the file. See section 4.1 File status, for more
An optional marker indicating that some action needs to be taken on
the file. This may be `com', indicating that the file needs to be
checked in, `upd', indicating that the file needs to be updated
from the repository, or `udo' if the changes should probably be undone.
Optionally, the base revision of the file. This is the version
which the copy in your working directory is based upon.
The file name.
4.1 File status
The `file status' field can have the following values:
- The file is modified in your working directory, and there was no
modification to the same file in the repository. This status can have
the following sub status:
- The file is modified in your working directory, and there were
modifications in the repository as well as in your copy, but they were
merged successfully, without conflict, in your working directory.
- A conflict was detected while trying to merge your changes to file
with changes from the source repository. file (the copy in your
working directory) is now the output of the `rcsmerge' command on
the two versions; an unmodified copy of your file is also in your
working directory, with the name `.#file.version',
where version is the RCS revision that your modified file started
from. See section 5.13 Viewing differences, for more details.
- The file has been added by you, but it still needs to be checked in to
- The file has been removed by you, but it needs to be checked in to the
repository. You can resurrect it by typing a (see section 5.9 Adding and removing files).
- A file that was detected in your directory, but that neither appears in
the repository, nor is present on the list of files that CVS should
- `Removed by you, changed in repository'
- You have removed a file, and before you committed the removal someone
committed a change to that file. You can use a to resurrect the
file (see section 5.9 Adding and removing files).
- The file is up to date with respect to the version in the repository.
This status can have a sub status of:
- The file was just committed by yourself.
- The file has been added by you (and has been checked into the repository).
- The file was brought up to date with respect to the repository. This is
done for any file that exists in the repository but not in your source,
and for files that you haven't changed but are not the most recent
versions available in the repository.
- The file was brought up to date with respect to a remote repository by
way of fetching and applying a patch to the file in your source. This
is done for any file that exists in a remote repository and in your
source; of which you haven't changed locally but is not the most recent
version available in the remote repository.
- Either a newer version than the one in your source is available in the
repository and you have not modified your checked out version, or the
file exists in the repository but not in your source. Use
`cvs-mode-update' bound to O to update the file.
- You have modified the checked out version of the file, and a newer
version is available in the repository. A merge will take place when
you run a `cvs update'.
- The file has been removed from your working directory but not yet
- There was an unresolved conflict when merging changes from the
repository into the file.
4.2 Selected files
Many of the commands work on the current set of selected files.
If marks are not being ignored, and there are any files that are marked,
they constitute the set of selected files.
Otherwise, if the cursor points to a file, that file is the selected
Otherwise, if the cursor points to a directory, all the files in that
directory that appear in the buffer are the selected files.
By default, marks are always in effect. You may change this, however,
by setting either of the variables
cvs-default-ignore-marks, which define whether marks are in effect
by default for the diff commands and for the rest of the `*cvs*'
buffer commands, respectively. Both are
nil by default.
In addition, you may use the command `cvs-mode-toggle-marks'
normally bound to T to toggle the use of marks for the following
This scheme might seem a little complicated, but once one get used to
it, it is quite powerful.
For commands to mark and unmark files, see See section 5.5 Marking files.
This document was generated
by XEmacs Webmaster on October, 2 2007